Welcome to Taormina!

After all that traveling, I have finally arrived to my final destination, Taormina, Sicily. Today happened to be a gorgeous day, making the welcome all the better. People from the school where I am going to be taking a class met me and some other students at the airport. It was pretty fortunate that they were willing to do that so that I didn’t have to worry about finding a taxi or something. When we were driving to over to Taormina I noticed that here in Sicily they also drive on the right side of the road. I thought everywhere in Europe drove on the left side, but I guess that goes to show how much I need to be educated about the way things work around here.

Another thing that I noticed on the drive is a volcano. Yes, a volcano. For those of you who don’t know, Sicily is home to Mt. Etna, one of the most active volcanoes in all of Europe. And there it was, staring at me in all its glory right through the car window.

Mt. Etna

View of Mt. Etna from the car window.

Once we finally got into town, I began to take in the scenery of where I would be staying for the next 14 days. Although there are many more pictures to come, here is a little sample of how breath taking this place is.

View of the city in the daytime

 

View of the city at sunset

Besides seeing the city a little bit today, I got to meet my host mom for the duration of my stay. She seems really awesome thus far and even though we have some trouble communicating because of the language barrier, she is more than willing to work with me to make sure we understand each other which is very important. One thing I learned, always be honest with how well you understand the language when visiting another country. I know sometimes in America if we ask people to repeat something a couple times, we eventually just smile and nod to pretend like we understand when we actually don’t. I wouldn’t recommend that here because you never know how important what they are saying may actually be. So even though it might be a struggle, just keep going over it again and again to make sure you fully understand what someone is trying to say to you. But don’t worry. People know when you are foreign and you aren’t expected to understand. They will work with you.

Although I have a million more things that I could say at the moment, I really need to go to sleep. Even though its only 4:15 in the afternoon on the East Coast, its currently 10:15pm here and after traveling all night it feels like much later. But as always, there are more stories to come…

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

